It Ain’t Easy Being Green

Boy, Kermit the Frog had it right. I am finding it very difficult to find affordable, eco options for our invitations and other paper needs. This is one area where I have already changed my mind at least six times- and we won’t be sending the invites out until next May!

The wedding invitation carries a lot of responsibility on its thin, papery shoulders. It performs many roles: to convey the wedding’s theme and level of formality, represent the couple’s personality, adhere to tradition or fly in the face of it, and yes, relay all the essential information of the event. What a lot of work for a few pieces of paper!

I never gave any thought to wedding invitations before I started planning mine. I cannot recall a single one from weddings I’ve attended. So, because I have a “stand out from the crowd” attitude and personality, combined with earth-friendly ethics, I want to create an invite that is unique, beautiful and on recycled or tree-free paper.

Our theme is beach/seashell, so I want that to come across. I like the look of these:


If you’ve read some of my previous posts, you know I have been searching far and wide on the interweb to find companies that provide such products. They are out there; Forever Fiances and My Good Greetings for example, but their selection is either limited in design, or beyond my modest budget.

I had hoped that my go-to printing place, Vistaprint would have what I was looking for, but unfortunately they offer the recycled paper option on only a select few of their invitations. Fooey.

I then turned to looking for templates, such as Printable Wedding Invitations and Wedding Chicks, hoping to find the perfect template to create my invite and print on my own eco-friendly paper. But alas, I wasn’t in love with any of the designs. Picky, I know.

So, I am now coming to the realization that I will need to DIY my invitations if I want to accomplish my goals of a unique, beautiful, and recycled paper invite. I searched for boutique and recycled paper shops in my city, and found some. One even offers a complimentary wedding invitation consultation as you browse their paper stock. Sounds pretty cool to me. As well, I’m warming up to the idea of rubber stamps. That way I can end up with something that’s truly one-of-a-kind.

Today I also found a template online to create your own petal-fold or pouchette envelope.

They look so cool, and something I want to try. I will keep you informed of what I discover along the way, and show pictures as I start to craft my own. I’m not normally a crafty person, so this task is slightly daunting, but at least I have time on my side.

What kind of invites make your heart go pitter-patter? Did/will you DIY, or get them professionally printed?

Leave a Comment

