Blog makeover: introducing… Practical Diva!

I am thrilled to announce that I have re-named my blog: Practical Diva! For obvious reasons, westcoast bride-to-be was no longer fitting and for a while now I have been brainstorming for an appropriate name to describe what I’m doing here.

prac·ti·cal [prak-ti-kuh l]
(adjective)
1. pragmatic
2. judicious, sensible, refers to good judgment in action, conduct, and the handling of everyday matters

di·va [dee-vuh, -vah]
(noun)
1. a distinguished female singer; via Italian from Latin: a goddess, from “divine”
2. describes a person who exudes great style and personality with confidence and expresses this freely- not letting others influence who they are or want to be

(References: dictionary.com and urbandictionary.com)

I believe that you don’t need a lot of money to live large. I respect the traditional values of thriftiness, orderliness and manners. I also believe that life is about passion, adventure and risk. So although I am semi-retired from my singing and performing career, I still embody the talent and creativity, albeit tempered by my day-to-day pragmatism (necessary when you work in the arts, have student loans, and live in one of the most expensive cities in North America!). Therefore, I am a practical diva.

2013 is shaping up to be another fantastic year for my partner and I, on all fronts. We are happily still in the ‘honeymoon’ phase of early marriage (but four-and-a-half years since we started dating!) and excited about our plans for the future.

Happy New Year to all my readers! Thanks for joining me on the journey.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. thepainofseparation
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 01:54:50

    May 2013 be everything you wish and pray for.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

