Easy & delicious Basil Pesto recipe

I love pesto. But it can be kinda expensive in the grocery stores, so it used to be reserved for “special occasions”. Then a couple of years ago I was taught how to make my own and it was like a major epiphany for me. You know, clouds parting, angels singing… “you can have pesto whenever you like…”

Now is the best time of year to do it, since it’s in season and easy to buy in bulk. Since I’m lactose intolerant I use a recipe that is cheese-free. I also don’t add pine nuts since we add them to the meal. This is a quick, easy and delicious way to always have pesto in your freezer. Enjoy!

IMG_2395

Presto Pesto
Credit: Maggie Jones

Ingredients:
1/2 lb of fresh basil
10 garlic cloves
2 cups of olive oil
1 tsp sea salt

How to make:
Process the basil by tearing the leaves off the stalks. Little stems are ok, but not the thick stuff. Peel the garlic cloves and place in the bottom of the blender. Fill the carafe with the basil, pressing down. Pour in almost all of the oil (I find I need to add a little more once half is blended) and add salt. Start to blend.

You may need to use a utensil to continue pushing down the basil until it “catches”- do not do this while the blender is on! Add the rest of the oil to help it all blend, and let it blend for a good 30 seconds. Pour into ice cube trays and freeze.

To remove, let sit on counter for a minute, then gently use a butter knife to help the cubes release, store in a freezer bag, et voila! You have pesto any time you need it.

I find that one cube per serving is a good ratio. Because it is oily, we now have two dedicated pesto ice cube trays, separate from our actual ice cube trays.

If you try this recipe, let me know how it works out. 🙂

Leave a Comment

