My Belly Button Will Never Be The Same – A Pregnancy Poem

tenmonths

We prayed for you to come our way
didn’t know your face but knew your name
How quickly you answered our call that day
and my belly button will never be the same

I endured leg cramps, heart burn, and feeling sick
Watched my body change from the inside out
Indescribable magic, feeling you twist and kick
My love for you was never in doubt

Overdue by two weeks, you made us wait
Finally one night I felt the pain
So excited, a bit scared, such a state!
It was a stormy Equinox with wind and rain

24 hours later and not as planned
You came into this world screaming strong
Euphoric joy now that you were safe on “land”
and you were healthy and nothing was wrong

So many tears and so many smiles
in the short weeks since you came
a deeper love than we have ever known
and my belly button will never be the same

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Gary Ockenden
    Feb 26, 2014 @ 13:08:58

    Lovely poem and great series of photos. Amazing how fast the whole thing goes, even though that’s easy for me to say!

    Reply

Leave a Comment

